Camden Dist
Home Up Index DNA Search Sending Info About

South Carolina Culpepper Archives
Camden District (1769-1798)


Camden District was created in 1769, and in 1785, it was divided into seven counties: Chester, Claremont, Clarendon, Fairfield, Lancaster, Richland and York. In 1791, Kershaw County was created in Camden District from parts of Claremont, Fairfield, Lancaster and Richland counties. Also in 1791, Pinckney District was formed taking Camden District counties of Chester and York. In 1792, Salem County was formed from parts of Claremont and Clarendon counties and then placed in the Cheraws District. In 1798, Sumter District was formed taking Claremont and Clarendon counties. At that same time, Richland County became Richland District, and Camden District was abolished and the remaining counties of Fairfield, Kershaw and Lancaster became districts.

Any names below in red have not been matched with a person in the Culpepper family tree. If you can identify any of them, please let us know.

Census Records

1790 US Census


No Culpeppers were found enumerated in any US censuses.



No records of any Culpepper births have been found.



No records of any Culpepper marriages have been found.



No records of any Culpepper deaths have been found.



No records of Culpepper graves have been found.

Last Revised: 02 Dec 2004

 Home Up Index DNA Search Sending Info About

Culpepper Connections! The Culpepper Family History Site