Granville Co
Home Up Index DNA Search Sending Info About

South Carolina Culpepper Archives
Carteret County (1685-1708)
Granville County (1708-1769, 1785-1798


Carteret County was formed in 1685 as one of the four original proprietary counties. (The others being Berkeley, Colleton and Craven.) It roughly spanned the southwestern corner of Carolina Low Country that is the location today of Beaufort, Jasper and Hampton counties. In 1708, Carteret was renamed Granville. In 1769 the four proprietary counties (Craven, Berkeley, Colleton and Granville) were abolished in favor of seven new Judicial Districts, with Beaufort District taking the area formerly occupied by Granville County. Then in 1785, Granville, along with Hilton, Lincoln and Shrewsbury, became counties of the Beaufort District, but these counties never became functional and were all abolished in 1798.

Any names below in red have not been matched with a person in the Culpepper family tree. If you can identify any of them, please let us know.

Census Records

1790 US Census


No Culpeppers were found enumerated in the first US census in 1790, and the county was abolished before the next census in 1800.



No records of any Culpepper births have been found.



No records of any Culpepper marriages have been found.



No records of any Culpepper deaths have been found.



No records of Culpepper graves have been found.

Last Revised: 26 Nov 2004

 Home Up Index DNA Search Sending Info About

Culpepper Connections! The Culpepper Family History Site