Ninety-Six Dist
Home Up Index DNA Search Sending Info About

South Carolina Culpepper Archives
Ninety-Six District (1769-1798)
Washington District (1791-1798)


Ninety-Six District was one of the seven original judicial districts created in 1769. In 1785, it was divided into six counties: Abbeville, Edgefield, Laurens, Newberry, Spartanburg and Union. In 1786, Greenville County was created, and in 1789, Pendleton County was as well. In 1791, Pinckney District was formed from parts of Ninety-Six and Camden districts, taking the counties of Spartanburg and Union, while Washington District was formed from Ninety-Six District taking the counties of Greenville and Pendleton. In 1798, Ninety-Six and Washington Districts were abolished when all of their counties became districts: Abbeville, Edgefield, Laurens, Newberry, Greenville and Pendleton.

Any names below in red have not been matched with a person in the Culpepper family tree. If you can identify any of them, please let us know.

Census Records

1790 US Census


No Culpeppers were found enumerated in the census.



No records of any Culpepper births have been found.



No records of any Culpepper marriages have been found.



No records of any Culpepper deaths have been found.



No records of Culpepper graves have been found.

Last Revised: 27 Nov 2004

 Home Up Index DNA Search Sending Info About

Culpepper Connections! The Culpepper Family History Site